Essex County Council

Essex County Council is a large organisation that received about 75% of Council Tax revenue and grants from central government.

In return it provides most of the central services such as schools, roads, lighting, social services etc that we take for granted.

Elected councilors make policy decisions and then council staff are responsible for implementing these decisions and the day to day running of the Council.

There are 75 elected Councilors with the Conservative party having overall control. One Councilor is elected from this area.

The Essex County Councilor for this area is

Councilor Bob Boyce

63 Lawlinge Road, Latchingdon, CM3 6JY

01621 740671

Click here to visit the website for Essex County Council.

Election to Essex County Council

2 May 2013

Southminster Ward

Robert George Boyce Conservative Party 1841 Elected
Tim Drain UKIP 1805  
Leslie Allan McDonald Labour Party 643  
Nathan Mitchell Stone BNP 68
Jonathan Peter King Green party 276  

Next County Council Election due on   May 2017